WHAT TOP THINKERS THINK ABOUT DEVELOPMENT

Kapuscinski Development Lectures will open the 5th International Conference on Sustainable Development in New York City at Columbia University with two global advocates of the Sustainable Development Goals:

Her Majesty Queen Mathilde of the Belgians will deliver her Kapuscinski Lecture keynote address on “Transformative Thinking to Achieve the SDGs”.

Eddie Ndopu on social rights as human rights: a conversation with prof. Jeffrey Sachs about inequality and exclusion.

When: 25th September 2019 at 9:00 am EDT / 15:00 CET (Her Majesty Queen Mathilde of the Belgians)

10:30 am EDT / 16:30 CET (Eddie Ndopu)

Where: Lerner Hall, Columbia University, New York City

You can join the lecture by:

  • coming to the event in New York City (registration required, click here)
  • following livestreaming from the event at kapuscinskilectures.eu
  • asking your questions to SDGs Advocates via Twitter using #KAPTalks hashtag

The SDGs cannot be fully achieved if certain groups in societies are left out. For instance, living with a disability has a strong impact on educational opportunities and jobs, which in term affects our efforts for universal poverty reduction.

Social rights need to be developed alongside human rights

Join #KAPTalks lecturers Her Majesty Queen Mathilde of the Belgians, Eddie Ndopu and Jeffrey Sachs in conversation as they discuss inequality and inclusion, and how focusing on disadvantaged groups must be done when working to achieve the Global Goals.

Organized in partnership with:
SHARE SEND MAIL PRINT